Florida law requires individuals under the age of 16 to wear a properly fit, securely fastened, American Society of Testing and Materials (ASTM) certified helmet when horseback riding.
Riders under 16 must wear a helmet when riding on:
1. Public roads or right-of-ways;
2. Public equestrian or recreational trails;
3. Public parks or preserves;
4. Public school sites; or
5. Any other publicly owned property.
The law provides several exceptions for riders practicing for and competing in events where wearing a helmet is not the norm. Equestrians riding on private land or engaged in agricultural practices are also not required to wear a helmet when riding.
The statute provides that parents, trainers, and supervisors are responsible for ensuring that riders under 16 years old comply with the law. Those responsible for ensuring compliance, along with the under age rider, may both be fined up to $500 per violation.
Kimbrell J. Hines is an active equestrian and an attorney with Williams Parker in Sarasota, Florida. She obtained her law degree and bachelor’s degree from the University of
Florida, where she competed for the University of Florida Equestrian Team. She also has
a Master of Science in Human Resource Management from the University of Tennessee.
Kimbrell may be reached at [email protected] or (941) 366-4800.