Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Federal storm aid grows

  • By
  • | 4:50 p.m. July 16, 2012
  • | 2 Free Articles Remaining!
  • Tampa Bay-Lakeland
  • Share

Hillsborough and Manatee counties have been added to the list of primary counties eligible for disaster recovery loans from Tropical Storm Debby administered by the U.S. Small Business Administration.

The disaster declaration, according to an SBA release, now covers 17 Florida counties, including four on the Gulf Coast: Hillsborough, Manatee, Pasco and Pinellas. Businesses and nonprofit organizations in those counties are eligible for both physical and economic injury disaster loans from the SBA.

The SBA also announced that Sarasota County has been added to the list of neighboring counties, which are only eligible for economic injury disaster loans.

Economic injury disaster loans, up to $2 million at rates that start at 4%, can cover working capital needs that the late June storm caused. The SBA says loan recipients can also use the funds to repair or replace disaster damaged or destroyed real estate, machinery and equipment, inventory, and other business assets.  

Visit for more information and an application.


Latest News


Special Offer: Only $1 Per Week For 1 Year!

Your free article limit has been reached this month.
Subscribe now for unlimited digital access to our award-winning business news.
Join thousands of executives who rely on us for insights spanning Tampa Bay to Naples.