Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Rubio, Meek, Scott, Sink win

  • By
  • | 4:48 p.m. August 25, 2010
  • | 2 Free Articles Remaining!
  • Tampa Bay-Lakeland
  • Share

Rick Scott's narrow victory over Bill McCollum in the Republican Primary shows a well-funded outsider can win an election, but most incumbents managed to hold onto their seats in state and local elections around the Gulf Coast Aug. 24.

Incumbents who lost their seats include Hillsborough County Commissioner Kevin White, who was defeated by former State Sen. Les Miller, and Charlotte County Commissioner Dick Loftus lost to Stephen Deutsch. Collier County Commissioner Fred Coyle was re-elected and Sarasota County Commissioner Nora Patterson won the Republican Primary over architect Mark Smith.

In Lee County, Commissioner Brian Bigelow won the Republican Primary as did Commissioner John Manning. Gov. Charlie Crist appointed Manning, only this summer, to fill the seat previously held by Bob Janes, who died earlier this year.

Hillsborough County Commissioner Jim Norman won the Republican Primary for the Florida Senate District 12 seat over Rep. Kevin Ambler, R-Tampa, and the former holder of that seat, Sen. Victor Crist, R-Tampa, won the Republican Primary for a seat on the Hillsborough County Commission.

Rep. Will Weatherford, R-Wesley Chapel, had the largest margin of victory among Gulf Coast area winners, receiving 80.32% of the vote.

Also big winners were five nearly identical ballot questions — one in Charlotte County and four in Sarasota County including three of its cities — asking voters if they support a property tax exemption for new or expanding businesses. Each passed with 60% of the vote or more.

The list of Gulf Coast winners is shown below with their percentage of the vote. Incumbents elected without opposition are also listed. Winners with less than 50% of the vote had more than one opponent, but none of these face run-offs before the Nov. 2 general election.

U.S. Senate
Republican Primary — Marco Rubio, 84.57%
Democratic Primary — Kendrick Meek, 57.51%

U.S. House of Representatives
District 5 Republican Primary — Rich Nugent, 62.12%
District 9 Democratic Primary — Anita de Palma, 59.34%
District 11 Republican Primary — Mike Prendergast, 47.12%
Democratic Primary — Kathy Castor, D-Tampa, incumbent, 85.31%
District 12 Republican Primary — Dennis Ross, 68.98%
Democratic Primary — Lori Edwards, 75.19%
District 13 Republican Primary — Vern Buchanan, R-Longboat Key, incumbent, 83.46%
Democratic Primary — James Golden, 56.69%
District 16 Democratic Primary — Jim Horn, 67.74%
District 25 Republican Primary — David Rivera, R-Miami, incumbent, 62.42%
Democratic Primary — Joe Garcia, 76.13%

Republican Primary — Rick Scott, 46.41%
Democratic Primary — Alex Sink, 76.91%

Attorney General
Republican Primary — Pam Bondi, 37.89%
Democratic Primary — Dan Gelber, 59.07%

State Senate
District 12 Republican Primary — Jim Norman, 55.95%
District 27 Republican Primary — Lizbeth Benacquisto, 39.08%
Democratic Primary — Kevin Rader, 52.80%

Florida House
District 44 Democratic Primary — Diane Rowden, 67.43%
District 45 Republican Primary — Richard Corcoran, 42.59%
District 46 John Legg, R-New Port Richey, incumbent, re-elected (unopposed)
District 47 Republican Primary — James Grant, 37.13%
District 48 Republican Primary — Peter Nehr, R-Tarpon Springs, incumbent, 56.21%
District 55 Democratic Primary — Darryl Rouson, D-St. Petersburg, 74.15%
District 56 Republican Primary — Rachel Burgin, R-Riverview, incumbent, 56.17%
District 57 Republican Primary — Dana Young, 54.95%
District 59 Betty Reed, D-Tampa, incumbent, re-elected (unopposed)
District 60 Republican Primary — Shawn Harrison, 59.20%
Democratic Primary — Russ Patterson, 72.27%
District 61 Republican Primary — Will Weatherford, R-Wesley Chapel, incumbent, 80.32%
District 62 Rich Glorioso, R-Plant City, incumbent, re-elected (unopposed)
District 63 Seth McKeel, R-Lakeland, incumbent, re-elected (unopposed)
District 67 Republican Primary — Greg Steube, 52.99%
District 72 Paige Kreegel, R-Punta Gorda, incumbent, re-elected (unopposed)
District 73 Republican Primary — Matt Caldwell, 35.31%
District 74 Gary Aubuchon, R-Cape Coral, incumbent, re-elected (unopposed)
District 77 Denise Grimsley, R-Sebring, incumbent, re-elected (unopposed)
District 112 Republican Primary — Jeanette Nuñez, 65.95%
Democratic Primary — Sandra Ruiz, 74.44%

Charlotte County Commission
District 2 — Republican Primary — Chris Constance, 57.25%
District 4 — Republican Primary — Stephen Deutsch, 59.68%

Charlotte County economic development ad valorem (property) tax exemption — approved, 59.74%

Collier County Commission
District 2 — Republican Primary — Georgia Hiller, 48.48%
District 4 — Fred Coyle, incumbent, 53.76%

Hillsborough County Commission
District 1 Republican Primary — Sandra Murman, 59.45%
District 2 Republican Primary — Victor Crist, 65.05%
District 3 Democratic Primary — Les Miller, 50.57%
District 7 Republican Primary — Mark Sharpe, incumbent, 55.03%

Lee County Commission
District 1 Republican Primary — John Manning, incumbent, 36.20%
District 2 Republican Primary — Brian Bigelow, incumbent, 42.86%

Manatee County Commission
District 2 Universal Primary— Michael Gallen, 55.89%
District 4 Republican Primary — Robin DiSabatino, 36.44%

Pasco County Commission
District 2 Republican Primary — Patricia Mulieri, incumbent, 51.59%

Pinellas County Commission
District 4 Republican Primary — Susan Latvala, incumbent, 43.50%
District 6 John Morroni, incumbent, re-elected (unopposed)

Sarasota County Commission
District 4 — Republican Primary — Nora Patterson, incumbent, 55.83%

Sarasota County economic development property tax exemption — approved, 66.94%
City of Sarasota economic development property tax exemption — approved, 66.84%
City of North Port economic development property tax exemption — approved, 62.30%
City of Venice economic development property tax exemption — approved, 66.89%


Latest News


Special Offer: Only $1 Per Week For 1 Year!

Your free article limit has been reached this month.
Subscribe now for unlimited digital access to our award-winning business news.
Join thousands of executives who rely on us for insights spanning Tampa Bay to Naples.