Skip to main content
Business Observer Friday, Dec. 18, 2015 6 years ago

Port chooses new chair

Betsy Benac succeeds Carol Whitmore as Port Manatee chairwoman.

PALMETTO — Manatee County Commissioner Betsy Benac has been elected to a one-year term as chairwoman of the Manatee County Port Authority, the governing board of Port Manatee.

Benac succeeds authority board member Carol Whitmore as chairwoman. The authority board, according to a statement, consists of the seven members of the elected Manatee County Commission, but with distinctively separate officers and financial accountability. The authority sets policy and oversees major expenditures for Port Manatee.

In addition to Benac's appointment, John Chappie was elected first vice chairman; Charles Smith was elected second vice chairman; and Robin DiSabatino was elected third vice chairwoman.

Benac is a former professional planner, who was Manatee County's assistant planning director from 1983 to 1994.

Related Stories