Skip to main content
Business Observer Wednesday, Oct. 27, 2021 2 months ago

Longtime healthcare official named board chair of area foundation

Michael Valentino transformed a startup into a specialty pharmaceutical company with almost $500 million in annual revenue.

With an extensive background in healthcare, Michael Valentino was recently announced as the 2021-22 board chairman for an area health care foundation. 

Sarasota Memorial Healthcare Foundation made the announcement earlier this month, along with the 2021-22 board of trustees.

“Mike has been a driving force on the Healthcare Foundation board since he joined four years ago and we are thrilled to have him in this new role,” says Healthcare Foundation President Mason Ayres in a press release. “His business acumen and passion for healthcare excellence has helped propel our organization forward.”

Ayres also thanked Phil Delaney for his service as board chairman this past year in the release, noting his leadership played an integral part in the foundation’s success.

Valentino is currently the executive chairman of the PLx Pharma Inc. board. His past experience includes a stint as EVP and global head of consumer pharmaceuticals for Novartis. He also built startup ARxT into a specialty pharmaceutical company with nearly $500 million in annual revenue from leading brand Mucinex, according to the release. 

Valentino joined the foundation board in 2017 and has chaired the marketing and development committee since 2019. 

“I am incredibly honored to assume the role of board chair for 2021-2022. While the last year-and-a-half presented the Healthcare Foundation and Sarasota Memorial Health Care System with unprecedented challenges, I am proud of what the organization and our board has been able to accomplish.” says Valentino.  “I am confident that with our outstanding roster of visionaries and leaders, the momentum will continue.”

The incoming board of trustees are:

  • Mike Valentino, board chair.
  • Philip Delaney Jr., immediate past chair. 
  • Deb Kabinoff, vice chair.
  • Dr. Joel Morganroth, treasurer. 
  • Gwen MacKenzie, secretary.
  • Robert Bartner. 
  • Ariane Dart. 
  • Gary Dornbush. 
  • John Giglio.
  • Mary Evelyn Guyton.
  • Eric Kaplan.
  • Thomas Kelly.
  • Robert Martin.
  • Diane Mayer.
  • Jonathan Mitchell.
  • Barbara Rodkin.
  • Eric Spiegel.
  • Sandra Stuart.
  • David Verinder, Ex Officio. 
  • Dr. Kirk Voelker.
  • Robert Wood.

The 2021-22 Committee Leadership was announced as Mike Valentino, executive chair; Jonathan E. Mitchell, audit chair; Gwen MacKenzie, development and marketing chair; Dr. Joel Morganroth, finance and investments chair; Mary Evelyn Guyton, governance and compensation chair; and Deb Kabinoff, grants chair. 

Related Stories